Posts Tagged 'scholarship'

2010 American 1 scholarship winners

2010 scholarship winners

Pictured: Heather Yzenbaard, Sarah Chinavare, Lauren Steele, and Brittnie Jarrett accept their award at our Resource Center.

American 1 is proud to announce the names of our 2010 Community Involvement Award scholarship winners.

These 10 altruistic high school graduates contributed to their community in many ways, and all deserve the $1,000 in scholarship funds for their college careers:

  • Rebecca Brown (Grass Lake High School)
  • Sarah Chinavare (Hanover-Horton High School)
  • Samantha Herzing (Pennfield High School)
  • Brittnie Jarrett (Jackson Christian High School)
  • Alana Lee (Battle Creek Central High School)
  • Meghan Martin (Napoleon High School)
  • Charles Schaerer (Jonesville High School)
  • Jacob Sloan (Quincy High School)
  • Lauren Steele (Western High School)
  • Heather Yzenbaard (Northwest High School)

We know these community-minded students will continue to give back in the future.

American 1’s scholarship program is funded through our Skip-a-Pay program, where members can donate $25 to our scholarship fund to skip a loan payment.

For information on our next scholarship award, check back here in January 2011.

American 1 gives $19,000 in scholarships

American 1 scholarship winners

We were proud to hand out 19 $1,000 scholarships to deserving, altruistic high school graduates yesterday.

These students embody what it means to give back to the community in a selfless way, and we salute all the winners from the counties that American 1 serves.

The 2009 Community Involvement Award winners are:

  • Samantha Allen (Leslie High School)
  • Samuel Eder (Lumen Christi High School)
  • Veronica Clayton (Homer High School)
  • Lindsay Youngren (Columbia Central High School)
  • Dylan Combs (Hanover-Horton High School)
  • Cyle Rigotzke (Hanover-Horton High School)
  • Ashley Clemons-Sanford (Napoleon High School)
  • Robert Cooley (Hillsdale High School)
  • Julie Lenardson (Western High School)
  • Amanda Weaver (Marshall High School)
  • Janelle Fraley (Bellevue High School)
  • Elizabeth Hayes (Lumen Christi High School)
  • Andrea Farmer (Springport High School)
  • Brian Edwards II (Homer High School)
  • Kylie Boehlke (Concord High School)
  • Rico Bailey (Battle Creek Central High School)
  • Robin Kocher (Lumen Christi High School)
  • Crystal Kotowicz (Michigan Center High School)
  • Amanda Bittle (Jonesville High School)

Congratulations, and thanks to Sam, Dylan, Brian, Julie, Andrea, Samantha, Crystal, Amanda, Robin, and Kylie (above) for attending our scholarship banquet yesterday morning.

Stay tuned next January for another opportunity to apply for our community involvement scholarship. In the meantime, give back to your community in ways that mean something to you.

American 1 scholarships earn a ‘thank you’


Just wanted to share a nice note we got from Michigan State Rep. Kenneth Kurtz, congratulating American 1 on giving out two $1,000 college scholarships to Hillsdale-area graduates last year.

“I encourage you to keep up the good work,” Rep. Kurtz writes (click the image to see the full letter).

We’re going to follow his advice with a new round of scholarship recipients this year. The scholarship application is due tomorrow, February 27, so be sure to get it in!

College scholarship application available


Each year, American 1 gives out $1,000 scholarships to altruistic high school students in the counties we serve. Last year, we awarded 10 college scholarships to community-minded students.

We’re making our application available for this year’s award on our What’s New page. You can download the application, and either mail or fax in your form and essay.

The Community Inolvement scholarships are funded through our Skip-a-Pay program, where members can make a $25 donation to our scholarship fund instead of making a loan payment. Members can use Skip-a-Pay once per year, per loan.

This year’s application and essay are due by February 27.

[Above: last year’s Community Involvement Award winners.]

Ten students win our $1,000 scholarship

Five students at our scholarship banquet

A big congratulations to the ten high school grads who won our annual $1,000 scholarship. We had a banquet for the winners yesterday morning to help them celebrate.

All ten students were highly involved in both extra curricular activities and their community while in high school. Each wrote a 2,500-word-or-less essay on the benefits of altruism and how they improved their community through service. We had a scholarship committee read over each essay and award the best with the $1,000 scholarship.

We’ve given scholarships since 2000, and raise the money through our Skip-a-Pay program (where members can skip one month’s loan payment for $25). We’re so proud of these community-minded students.

The winners were:

  • Jessica Sandin (Bellevue High School)
  • Chelsea Cox (Western High School)
  • Emily Harris (Chelsea High School)
  • Jennifer Shaffer (Camden-Frontier High School)
  • Jacob Johnson (Hanover-Horton High School)
  • Maria Taylor (Jonesville High School)
  • Ryan Linderman (Northwest High School)
  • Luke Clore (Hanover-Horton High School)
  • Adam Watson (Union City High)
  • Jacob Heller (Bellevue High School)

Remarkably, we gave out scholarships to students in all four of the counties we serve.

Congratulations to our 10 winners. Look for information on next year’s scholarship contest around the first of the year.

Eight students win $1,000 altruism scholarship

Cheryn Scripter, Amanda Alling, and Elizabeth Curtis all won our $1,000 scholarship.

American 1 reintroduced our loan Skip-a-Pay program last fall, helping to fund our college scholarship program, the Community Involvement Award. Thanks to overwhelming support from members like you, American 1 was able to award eight local high school seniors with $1,000 scholarships.

  • Sandeep Singh (Harper Creek High School)
  • Kaitlin McDowell (Jonesville High School)
  • Amanda Alling (Jackson Christian High School)
  • Elizabeth Curtis (Jonesville High School)
  • Kelsey Warring (Jackson Christian High School)
  • Cheryn Scripter (Western High School)
  • Kimberly McTigue (Columbia Central Options)
  • Joshua Porter (Harper Creek High School)

Congratulations to all the altruistic, community-minded students who won.

American 1 Federal Credit Union